Chandler Symphony Orchestra IV

Chandler Center for the Arts
Sunday, October 10, 3PM

Dmitri Shostakovich
Festive Overture, Op.96 was written by Dmitri Shostakovich in 1954 for a concert held at the Bolshoi Theatre in Moscow to commemorate the 37th anniversary of the October Revolution (which took place in 1917).

Edvard Grieg
Peer Gynt, Suite No. 1, Op.46
Op. 23, was written in 1875 by Edvard Grieg for Norwegian playwright Henrik Ibsen's play of the same name. Later, in 1888 and 1891, Grieg extracted eight movements to make two four-movement suites: Suite No. 1, Op. 46 and Suite No. 2, Op. 55.

I. Morning Mood
II. The Death of Aase
III. Anitra's Dance
IV. In the Hall of the Mountain King

Franz Joseph Haydn
Symphony No. 104 in D Major, London
This is Joseph Haydn's final symphony. It is the last of the twelve so-called London Symphonies, and is known (somewhat arbitrarily, given the existence of eleven others) as the London Symphony.

I. Adagio – Allegro
II. Andante
III. Menuetto and Trio: Allegro
IV. Finale: Spiritoso