Tempe Symphony Orchestra I - Boyce, Tchaikovsky, Kalinnikov

Tempe Center for the Arts
Monday, October 18, 7:30PM

Willaim Boyce (1711-1779)
Symphony No. 5 in D Major is part of what remains of the over 50 odes and stage works composed during his tenor as a composer to several London churches. Very few of these have survived however, in 1760, the best overtures to his odes were collected and published as his Eight Symphonies. Symphony No. 5 is in three movements and is an outstanding example of late Baroque style composition.

I. Allegro ma non troppo
II. Tempo di Gavotta
III. Tempo di Minuetto

Pytor Ilych Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
Romeo and Juliet is styled an Overture-Fantasy, and is based on Shakespeare's play of the same name. Like other composers such as Berlioz and Prokofiev, Tchaikovsky was deeply inspired by Shakespeare and wrote works based off of The Tempest and Hamlet as well. Unlike Tchaikovsky's other major compositions, Romeo and Juliet does not have an opus number.

Vasily Sergeyevich Kalinnikov (1866-1901)
Symphony No. 1 in G Minor was a tremendous success at its 1897 premiere in Kiev. The vibrant, buoyant and romantic composition does not hint at how ill Kalinnikov was when he composed it. The melody in the first movement remains in the mind throughout the composition in one for or another. The first movement's fugal development in the strings and the brass' restatement in the finale are just two examples eith the finale providing a marvelous summation of the full symphony.

I. Allegro moderato
II. Andante commodamente
III. Scherzo Allegro non troppo
IV. Finale Allegro moderato